Skip navigation

100_7260I like to walk or go for a ride and take some pics. And often I start to sing. Silently, if I’m still surrounded by people, or I blurt out loud in the car or in a lonely place where no one can hear me. Except the One who said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 NIV

WHAT A FRIEND WE HAVE IN JESUS

What a Friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged; take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness; take it to the Lord in prayer.

Are we weak and heavy laden, cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge, take it to the Lord in prayer.
Do your friends despise, forsake you? Take it to the Lord in prayer!
In His arms He’ll take and shield you; you will find a solace there.

Blessed Savior, Thou hast promised Thou wilt all our burdens bear
May we ever, Lord, be bringing all to Thee in earnest prayer.
Soon in glory bright unclouded there will be no need for prayer
Rapture, praise and endless worship will be our sweet portion there.

3 Comments

  1. Singing is such an important part of my spiritual life…but only when I’m alone. :)

    What a lovely old hymn. Thanks.

  2. Perfect image to illustrate the scripture reference. Really nice thoughts. While I don’t listen to hymns every day they were a big part of my Mennonite upbringing. This one was always one of my personal favorites. I still find myself singing it occasionally if I’m praying about a difficult situation or conflict. Thanks for sharing.

  3. While I was preparing to teach in my Sunday School class on 1 Peter 4:7-5:14, this old hymn came to mind and, in my mind, I found myself singing it again. Thanks for this reminder of one of those hymns which will always be a source of strength in the Christian’s walk of faith.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

