Skip navigation

101_5781Rebecca Alitsi, a student at the Catholic University of Eastern Africa in Kibera, Kenya, is a courageous and resourceful lady. Some time ago I bought a kikoy from her – a most beautiful piece of woven cotton –  because I wanted to support her project ‘School for the Girls’. I encourage you all to do the same, you will not regret it. Have a look here please.

Today I am catching up with the latest updates of some of my international friends in blogosphere. I feel sorry for neglecting them since I started blogging in Dutch a year ago on Vrijspraak, but it was also nice to get connected with fellow Christian bloggers in my own language area. From now on I will try to strike a balance between my national and international blog activities! I really enjoy the fellowship and friendship within and across borders.

Back to Rebecca in Kenya. She quotes 2004 Nobel prize winner Wangari Maathai in her most recent posting: “If you destroy nature, nature will destroy you.” Her words about the pollution of the environment and the  depletion and exhaustion of nature’s resources, strike a chord with me. And the words of Wangari Mathai reminded me of a great piece of graffiti on a wall in Exeter, Devon (see picture above): “Man did not weave the web of life, what he does to the web, he does to himself.” So true.

Please visit Rebecca’s blog and get in touch with her too. She will most certainly appreciate it!

One Comment

  1. Love that quote on the wall. It is a personal favorite of mine. It was inspired by Native American, Chief Seattle, from a speech he gave in 1854 during treaty negotiations with agents of the United States. The speech is entitled HOW CAN ONE SELL THE AIR? The full quote reads,

    “All things are connected. Whatever befalls earth befalls the sons and daughters of the earth. Man did not weave the web of life; he is merely a strand in it. Whatever he does to the web he does to himself.”

    For me this is a truth from God. This wisdom (even though not from the bible itself) reminds me of Romans 10:20 and Isaiah 65:1 “…I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me; I was found by those who did not seek me….”


Leave a Reply

